Monuments & Churches
in Salzburg's Lungau
Mariapfarr pilgrimage church
Originally built in a Romanesque style, the church acquired its current form in the 15th century. Nevertheless, today’s visitors can still gaze upon frescoes dating back to the 13th and 14th centuries, as well as a purportedly miraculous painting from the 15th century. Also worth seeing is the Joseph Mohr square with the Silent Night fountain in honor of the lyricist, who wrote the text for the world-famous Christmas song „Silent Night, Holy Night“ in Mariapfarr in 1816.
Information: Mariapfarr tourist office, T +43 (0)6473 8766 (currently closed for renovations)
Lawrence's Church / Mariapfarr
Probably the oldest church in Lungau, standing in Althofen (Mariapfarr): first chronicled in 923, it was from here that the Christianization of Lungau began. Today’s structure has its origins in the 18th century.
Tours: Elfriede Bauer, T +43 (0)6473 8676
St. Leonhard's Pilgrimage Church / Tamsweg
Generally held to be one of the most beautiful Gothic country churches in the southern German-speaking world, it is a popular attraction, above all for its glass windows. The carved altars are also masterpieces.
Tours: Marianne Resch, T +43 (0)6474 6870
Maria hollenstein pilgrimage church / Ramingstein
Very popular with pilgrims and newlywed couples: On the 13th of every month pilgrims gather in Kendlbruck at 6.30 pm and set out in a procession of lights to the Mühlbachgraben, where they then celebrate a Fatima Mass in Maria Hollenstein.
Historic "Maurergut" Farm / Zederhaus
A true art-historical jewel is this traditional farm in Zederhaus, featuring natural rock walls, a brick grain crib, a crushing mill and herb garden.
Tours & Information: Josef Baier, T +43 (0)6478 312 & +43 (0)650 5550903
St. Augustine's Pilgrimage Church / St. Margarethen
For a long time, this church, whose history dates back to 1250, was the destination of pilgrimages in honor of St. Augustine and the Virgin Mary. Numerous votive tablets indicate that St. Augustine was especially invoked to heal various eye complaints. The ceiling fresco is by famous Lungau painter Gregor Lederwasch.
St. Michael's Filial churches
St. Martin‘s Filial Church was first documented in 1163, whereas the relatively small church in Oberweißburg was first built in 1912/13 according to the design of an architect. The St. Giles Filial and Pilgrimage Church - called the "Egidikirche" - is located west of the market town above Dasl and was first documented in the 13th century.
St. Michael's Parish Church
First chronicled in 1147. Some frescos from 1240 on the south wall point out its Romanesque core. To the north of the early Gothic choir with cross-ribbed vaults and the nave from 1513 is the early Gothic chapel of auxiliary saints, which was extended to the west and is today‘s side nave. After the second consecration in 1513, the church interior was remodeled again and again over the following centuries: in 1629 the gallery of the nave and the staircase were first chronicled, while in 1794, the church having since been remodeled in Baroque style, an upper gallery was added. Over the course of restorations in 1907/08, the Baroque high altar from 1731 was removed and replaced by a neo-Gothic winged altar.
For tours, please call the St. Michael parish office, T +43 (0)6477 8229-0
St. Augustine's Chapel St. Michael / St. Martin
According to legend, the St. Augustine chapel has been around since 283 AD. Many locals and guests visit the chapel for its supposedly miraculous healing water, which possesses the power to alleviate eye complaints.
St. Bartholomäus PARISH CHURCH / Mauterndorf
This church in the center of town features Romanesque, Early Gothic and Baroque elements. Particularly worthy of note: the painting at the high altar"Die Marter des Hl. Bartholomäus" by J.Fr.Pireth from 1668.
Mauterndorf Filial Churches
St. Wolfgang‘s Church, built in 1642 with its Mount Calvary, sits enthroned above the town. Along with a magnificent view, the crucifixion group on the southern wall of the church is also a sight to see. The romantic church in the district of St. Gertrauden is the oldest church in Mauterndorf. The "Cemetery of the innocent (unbaptized) children" is a unique feature.
St. Paulu's Parish church / lessach
A unique feature of this neo-Gothic church in Lessach is the sundial on its south side dated 1763. The “Sarchen” grave sites are unique in Austria and of particular art-historical significance. You should also definitely take a look inside the ossuary! Detailed information about the history and unique features of St. Paul’s Church is available on-site.
Visits possible daily until 5 p.m.
St. rupert's Church / Weisspriach
One of the oldest churches in Salzburg province, St. Rupert’s in Weisspriach boasts Byzantine frescoes from the 11th and 12th centuries. The
church is open all day for visits.
In former times, the grain crib or “Troadkasten” was an important part of every farm. Originally carpentered together out of logs, it would also feature artistic swallow-tail ornamentation made of metal. As of the 16th century, they were made of brick (diminishing any risk of fire) and decorated with frescoes instead.
holy family in pine / Thomatal
At the Suppan Alm, on the way from Bundschuh to Schönfeld, you will discover figures carved out of living pine, depicting the Holy Family
along with Saints Leonhard and Barbara, around which a chapel was built. This out-of-the-ordinary piece by Ernst Adelsberger is definitely
Josefhütte / Thomatal
A church rebuilt in Schönfeld after a fire in memory of Valentin Pfeifenberger (Thomatal pastor). A place where people meet, pray, and reflect.Seite Drucken